Oscar-Nominated Film Series: American Hustle

Standard

This is the first post in a series on Oscar-nominated films.

(c) Digital Spy

(c) Digital Spy

Ah, American Hustle. The story of an embezzling couple, a government agent, New Jersey politicians, a slightly unhinged wife, and a complicated scheme. Oh, and lots of cleavage. And interesting hairdos. American Hustle has been nominated for a grand total of ten nominations, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actress, Best Supporting Actor, and others.

I think I am going to be the person with the unpopular opinion: I did not think that American Hustle was that great. It unfortunately did not sustain my undivided attention throughout the film. The exposition of the film was compelling, as it introduced the characters, who seemed to be interesting and complex. I also found that the climax and conclusion of the film was engaging, yet  I felt that the main story of the film dragged on. During some of the slower scenes in the film, my mind wandered…did I get any new emails? I found myself caring less about the storyline, and more about seeing how the characters interacted with each other in their own colorful world.

I should give the film some credit, though; the performances by the actors in the film were very good. I found myself anxiously awaiting for Amy Adams or Jennifer Lawrence to appear on screen, as I love me some leading ladies.

Overall, would I give American Hustle the Oscar for Best Picture? Probably not. I wouldn’t have the urge to check Facebook and Twitter for an Oscar-winning Best Picture.

Leave a Reply

